Talk About It Tuesday – Beached Dolphins & a Burger Thief

Welcome to another edition of Talk About It Tuesday.  This segment starts of a bit more serious than prior weeks.

Dolphins are said to be some of the smartest, social mammals in the world.  They are similar to humans in that they are social creatures and are known to have sex for pleasure rather than for reproduction alone. Learn more about dolphins and marine wildlife at www.vettechschools.org.

In Cape Cod, over a hundred dolphins have stranded themselves on the beach.  They were checked out for any health related issues.  After determining the dolphins were in good health, they were tagged and sent back out to the ocean.

msnbc.com

Image: Michael Booth/IFAW

As a dolphin (and all around nature/animal/mammal) lover, “dolphin strandings” fascinate me.  It is interesting because Dolphins are smart – which I already stated.  They communicate, use tools, have sex for pleasure, get into fights with other dolphins and travel in social groups.

Back to the stranding of the dolphins.  So it’s not one or six, or even twelve dolphins.  129 dolphins have stranded themselves in the last three weeks.  92 of these dolphins died.  More dolphins keep coming.  And no one knows why.

Me being me (without a degree in science), I think the worst.  I have read about animals fleeing a region or area shortly before a natural disaster hits. Check out this Discovery article.  Don’t get me wrong. It’s not like two flamingos are chilling down in Miami and then suddenly:

Fred Flamingo: “Ya feel that?”

Frank Flamingo: “Sure did, Fred.  Storm’s coming.”

Fred Flamingo: “Yeah, I felt it two hours ago.  Got my stuff packed and ready to go.”

Frank Flamingo: “Same here.  Last time I got stuck in migration traffic. Damn near had one of my legs ripped off.”

Or maybe it does go that way. Sometimes I think that animals have mental telepathy and actually do communicate with their minds. Like when my cats sit and stare at each other from across the room.

Ooookk… I’ve said too much.

Back to the dolphins.  The amount of beached dolphins in recent weeks is alarming and I feel like it is the beginning of a super creepy movie.  You know, kind of like The Happening when all the birds dropped dead?  Yes, that story is absolute fiction

Do you have any theories on the beaching of the dolphins?

In quirkier news, James B. Summers walked into a Madison, WI Denny’s and straight into the manager’s office.  James told the manager that he was now in charge.  James then cooked himself a cheeseburger (and fries) and ate almost all of it.  Authorities came to arrest the “Burger-ler”  and as he was about to be led out he shouted “This is why you don’t dine and dash kiddies,” to the perplexed patrons.

Ah, just another addition to my “reasons I don’t eat fast food” list.  Have you ever encountered a looney character in a public place?

Thanks for joining me for this segment of Talk About It Tuesday! :D

Comments

  1. nice blog, great posts and topics. I agree with animals being able to communicate. Put out a small bit of bird seed, one Canadian Jay finds the food. In minutes, he is joined by at least ten more jays. They send one to scout for food, the scout returns to tell the rest about it. if that ain’t intelligence, I don’t know what is. Too bad about the dolphins, beautiful animals

  2. Nice blog! i’m going to participate in the A to Z challenge too.
    I will be back, i am putting you into my reader

    Mimi Torchia Boothby Watercolors

  3. WEIRD!!! Those poor Dolphins – I wonder what is up with that?!?! But it’s definitely happening for a reason. I read somewhere that one of the problems with beached whales and dolphins is that once they get beached, they send out a distress call which summons others! This usually results in more getting beached…but that doesn’t explain why they continue to come back for weeks?!?!? Very odd…and definitely creepy!
    Can you imagine the dude in the fast food place…LOL!! Definitely one more reason to not visit those establishments. LOL!!

  4. I’m a firm believer that animals can sense changes in weather patterns. I think it has to do with air pressure or something. But I can’t imagine why that many dolphis would go suicidal. Maybe it’s a “survival of the fittest” sort of thing where mother nature thins the heard?

  5. Interesting post this week Darlene! I have no speculations to add about the Dolphins, but I have to say that the Burger-ler story was funny. People never cease to amaze for sure!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] we’re gonna talk about Social Media, namely LinkedIn. (You can thank Darlene Steelman for requesting this topic. [...]

  2. [...] to Talk About It Tuesday.  Last week we discussed Beached Dolphins and a Burger Thief.  Dolphins were hopping out of the water and beaching themselves while a guy in Wisconsin decided [...]

What's on your mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,393 other followers

