ROW80 – Funny Farm or Bust!

The last twenty days have been a complete roller coaster of physical. mental and emotional whack-ed-ness. Tax season is over (yay!) and I can finally get back into focusing on my goals. Between family, writing like crazy and dealing with work, I was contemplating checking myself into a nice little padded room for a few days.

Luckily, I made it through the last two weeks (three and a half months) unscathed.

My goals remained unaltered for the most part, but I totally bombed on Script Frenzy.  Yeah, I won’t be entering into any more so long as I work at an accounting firm.  Something about trying to write three and a half pages of script a day and dealing with tax deadlines resembles milk and orange juice.  They just don’t jive.

Trust me when I say, giving up on something is never something I do with shrugged shoulders.  It pains me to admit that I cannot continue Script Frenzy, but I must be realistic.

The A – Z Challenge will be over in eight days.  This one I will finish. It has been a lot of fun finding random words associated with positive mental health to blurb about.  It has been even more fun visiting other blogs.

I have been getting in more exercise. I stopped walking in the park after my co-worker passed away last year (they needed me at the office)  and I quit smoking in November.  You know what that means!

Yep.  I put on A LOT of weight. Not cool.   They day after tax season, I decided I was going to walk in the park for at least twenty-five minutes a day (M-F).  I have done it so far. As well as made it a point to go bicycling at a local park for an hour an afternoon.
Modified goals to go forth with:

1. continue to read/comment blogs
2. pull out WIP and begin edits
3. continue Flash Fiction Friday
4. thirty – forty minutes of cardio a day
5. review budget (I need to save for a car)
6. re-organize menus for the day – get rid of sugar loaded foods! (yogurt pretzels are not good for me!)

That is it for me my fine friends…
How are your goals coming along?
Enjoy the rest of your Sunday! :D

Comments

  1. Congratulations on the completion of your tax ventures. The list you have created for yourself looks like a great one:-)

  2. It amazes me how anyone stays sane during tax season when working for an accounting firm. I’m glad that crazy time is over for you and you can get back on track with your writing. Good luck with all your goals!

  3. Congrats on giving up smoking – and I totally understand how hard it is to give things like ScriptFrenzy up. Good for you for being realistic though :)

  4. Great job on the smoking and new health push (both are on my list as well…shhh). Really inspires me. We’ve all had to give things up at times, especially for the evil day jobs, but the important thing is that you stay sane and realistic about the world – which I’d say you have done in amazing fashion. Kudo’s to you!

    Have a fantastic week, Darlene :)

  5. getting queries ready to send out. that’s my immediate goal.

  6. Joanna Aislinn says:

    Several years ago I went to a workshop given by romance author Jane Porter (http://www.janeporter.com). This lovely soul discussed never underestimating who you will touch with your writing.

    Darlene, you inspire me. Hang tough about giving up Script Frenzy–sounds like you have a lot on your plate and one can only serve so many masters at once. I’ve never smoked but I can seriously relate to the weight deal. If you like, check out some of the posts I wrote on the ‘diet’/exercise subject. Maybe something I’ve shared will be of service to you. http://joannaaislinn.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/change-my-self-image-uh-yeah/ (BTW, links to two posts that are my more develop-a-routine posts are embedded in the post you land on.) Thanks for sharing and letting me share as well :)

    BTW, try not to feel badly about the ‘fun food.’ Uh…yesterday evening, my kids and I…
    You’ll see :)

  7. giving up smoking – well done – I managed that about 25/6 years ago and haven’t looked back – it is hard but worth it – all the best for coming week

  8. You have a great attitude, Darlene. We all have to find our time limits and remain responsible in the areas of our lives that call us to duty. Your goals look great.

  9. Well done on your progress writing and really well done on giving up smoking!

What's on your mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,391 other followers

