ROW#80 Check-In.. Getting To The Meat

Eeewwww… what the hell does that mean, Darlene?
Well, I’ll tell you.

I am on my second scene in my novel draft. I have written close to 2000 words which doesn’t seem like much. However, for me it is. Two jobs, chauffeuring my daughter back and forth, blogging and reading are all tasks that must be completed. Oh yeah, and laundry, food shopping, dishes, paying bills.. yadda yadda.

I finished Nikki Sixx’s “The Heroin Diaries” and put it down feeling a little different then I had when I first picked it up. Normally, books do not affect me in such ways. But being that I went through something similar in 2006 I could relate in a few spots. True, I do not have unlimited funds. Had I had unlimited funds, I may have wound up dead. Everything does and doesn’t happen for a reason.

I have not been very steadfast in blog commenting and I apologize for that. It seems I should take a moment tomorrow and write out a schedule of sorts to better manage my tasks since I am taking this book thing seriously (and myself seriously) for once in my life.

So my goals for this week are simple.
Write, write, write.
Get my ass to an AA meeting.
Finish my eighth and ninth step.
Get my hands on a camera and take some pictures.

Ok, that is all for now. Good luck in your writing and non-writing quests friends!

Comments

  1. Ack! Hit publish. I am on my phone and am all thumbs. LOL

    I haven’t read the book. I do have the album. Intense stuff. And, like you, I can understand where he is coming from.

    The timer does work. I usually have to meditate to get where I can focus well enough for anything to work, though.

    Good post. 😀

  2. The timer d

  3. Darlene, fantastic to-do list. I haven’t read that book, but I might pick it up once I publish my book in the fall. It sounds very interesting. Have you tried #wordmongering? I only ask because I also have a chaotic life (2 year old, 11 year old, military husband, and we’re moving in two months). It really helped me to just set aside 1 half hour and write what I could. we meet up on Twitter under that hashtag and write from the :00 to the :30 of any hour. Then we share our word counts (some as low as a 100 some 1,000, everyone is different) and cheer each other on! Good luck with your book! 🙂

    • Hey Elizabeth… thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂 I am going to try the timer thing.. I will probably start with ten minutes and go from there. That is an excellent idea. I have been posting word counts under #wordmongering, but had no idea there was a timer involved! Whoops. But for the record, none of my word counts have been over 500.

      Good luck with your move.. I hope it is to an exciting place.. 😀 My brother is in the military and moved around with his family until he got to Jacksonville, FL. He has been there for the last four years.

      Talk to you soon..

      Darlene

What's on your mind?

