Where Do You Write Best?

Ok.. so I am finding out that writing at home is becoming a non-option. I get distracted by television, my family and my cat that I taught how to fetch. Oh, how that last one has come back to bite me on the arse.

Where did you throw my mouse, mother?

 

I find that writing at the office on my lunch is the best option so far. Writing in Starbucks also works out. Which is why, when I drop my daughter off at work tomorrow night, I will plop my butt at a table in the corner of Starbucks next door for three hours.

This will help me out in several ways.

First and foremost, no cat to bring me a little stuffed mouse to throw in the other room. Over, and over and over again.

Secondly, people!

If I am hulled up in the apartment all the time, how will I find interesting character traits to give my characters that layered “real person” vibe? Sure my cat is adorable and didn’t earn the name “Little Bastard” for nothing… Still… not much dialogue there.

The best part? Super caffeinated coffee! Oh, how I love coffee; the stronger the better.

The Investigation Discovery Channel will be miles away as I sip my delicious beverage and people watch (in a major non-creepy fashion). No distractions of grizzly murders (they do help – occasionally) and crazy people. I would say this channel is an excellent observation for behavior, but I wind up getting engrossed in the story and forget all about my work.

Bad Darlene!

My book is coming along a little faster these days. This is a blessing. I had awful nightmares of me publishing a book with blank pages. *shudders*

So I want to know from y’all (nope – not from the south, but sometimes I like to pretend!)… where do you write best? Alone? At home? On the subway? Under a tree?

Talk to you soon!

Comments

  1. markrhunter says:

    I finally have my home office, something I’ve always wanted … but after having a deadline for almost 20 years and now having a laptop, I’ve found I can write almost anywhere that has a flat surface for me to sit on. Sometimes I need earbuds and iTunes, thouigh.

    • Hey Mark – a home office. Oh, the envy I have for people with home offices.

      I never thought of listening to music when I write. I might try that. again. I thought it would be a distraction, but it may help with focus.

      Do your music choices vary with what you are writing?

  2. I have a cozy coach corner where I write. The trick is that I get up at 4:30 am when my husband gets ready for work and then I have the house to myself.

    After reading your post, I just might branch out.

  3. I write at home on my couch mostly. I have set writing times and usually the house is quiet during them, so it works. Maybe I’ll have an office one day. I can dream.

What's on your mind?

