NaNoWriMo and the Proverbial Butt Kicking

So I am doing NaNoWriMo this year.  Yay me.  So far I am 36,209 words in.  I am super excited to be a participant this year and love the connections I have made with other Nanos.

I have been to two write-ins which are loads of fun!

Somehow through the whole NaNo thingy… I have to keep doing other non-writing things such as:  spending time with family, working at my full-time job, watching The Walking Dead (and football) … oh, and showering.  I always forget how important showering is!

My boyfriend gave me a bit of crap today.  I wrote over 2,000 words today and was freaking out because I wanted to reach the 40,000 mark today.  But he was right.  My mind was mush, my back was killing me and I am almost to the point where my plot has gone on strike.  Can’t have that.

I even am baking chocolate chip cookies!

We here in the household seem to be quite addicted to chocolate chip cookies these past few weeks.  Now, the three of us are also going to the gym (my daughter and I went today).  Maybe we think that if we do an extra fifteen minutes on the tread, the cookies won’t matter.  In the back of our little minds, however, we know…. those cookies matter.

Me? I am not freaking out about it.  I quit smoking the day NaNoWriMo started.  I hadn’t even realized that this was to be.  I mean, my boyfriend was nagging and nagging and nagging still. “When are you quitting?  Are you quitting soon? Darlene, is today the day you quit?”

“FINE!  I’ll quit the day after Halloween! All Saints Day!  How perfect a day to quit smoking!  All Saints Day!” Yeah, I freaked out a little.  Then it dawned on me.

Crap!!  NaNoWriMo starts on November 1st!  It’s all good though.  Apparently my seething tummy knots and unabated anger are doing my story rather well. 😉  Now, my family and the lady that followed me in the parking lot today to tell me I could “try a little kindness”…. they are singing a different tune.

Happy ROW80ing and NaNoWriMoing my fellow friendly writer peepazoids!

Comments

  1. jackgreen1609 says:

    Good luck with your story and quitting smoking! It would be great if you post some of your story online so that you can leave spell checking to other people while you bake some more cookies!

  2. Awesome, quitting smoking AND doing NaNo AND baking cookies. You rock!

  3. Woohoo! You got to give yourself a break when you need it. That way your creativity doesn’t suffer. 😀

  4. Okay, the “try a little kindess” line had me doubled over with laughter. People are so funny. I still think quitting while doing NaNo is brilliant. It gives you something to focus on while you get over the hump. Glad things are going well.

Trackbacks

  1. […] NaNoWriMo and the Proverbial Butt Kicking (thedailywoman.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] NaNoWriMo and the Proverbial Butt Kicking (thedailywoman.wordpress.com) […]

What's on your mind?

