A – Z Challenge ~ I is for Idiosyncrasy

id·i·o·syn·cra·sy

[id-ee-uh-sing-kruh-see, -sin-]

noun, plural -sies.

1. a characteristic, habit, mannerism, or the like, that is peculiar to an individual.
2. the physical constitution peculiar to an individual.
3. a peculiarity of the physical or the mental constitution, especially susceptibility toward drugs, food, etc. Compare allergy ( def. 1 ) .
How awesome are idiosyncrasies?  I mean, they are what make us, us!  They make you, you and me, me. 😀
Have you ever been out in public and noticed the idiosyncrasies of others?  Maybe you’ve seen the same guy at the local coffee shop every morning and noticed he stirs his coffee clockwise ten times.
Or, perhaps, you always have to put your left sock and left shoe on before the right.. no exceptions.  Or maybe your cat will not eat his food out of his bowl.  Instead, he drags it out to the floor with his paw and eats it (this is what my cat does).
We like to think we are just an average bear that does nothing out of the ordinary… but, we all have our little quirks. we all have our little idiosyncrasies.  The main character in my WIP always counts the steps she goes up or down. I cannot sleep without socks on.
What are some of your characters’ idiosyncrasies? 
Are any of their quirks actually your quirks?
Do you notice other people’s quirky habits?
Comments

  1. Ideosyncracies are fun! I, for one, can’t sleep with socks on. Pajamas, but not socks. Dunno why 😛

    Aurora Celeste
    yasff.blogspot.com
    dramaticthreads.com

  2. Great post! I like even numbers and I like to keep my CDs in Alphabetical order.

  3. Raiscara Avalon says:

    Hey, I can’t sleep without socks either! My feet get ridiculously cold. I’ll have to think of what quirks I can give my characters…if they don’t design them for themselves. Very willful characters I have. 🙂

  4. My characters have many idiosyncrasies… some of them might mirror my own, but most of them are combined from my years as a people watcher. I enjoy the little things that make each of us different from one another, as much as I enjoy those traits that make us the same.

  5. It’s just a cool word, isn’t it? Thanks for the reminder that we need to add these to our characters. Because we’re all a little “quirky” like someone said above. 🙂

  6. Ha! Cool post. I can’t sleep with socks on, no matter how cold it is!

    You know you’re a day ahead, right? You were supposed to take Sunday off!

  7. For you, “I” should have been innovative and “f” should have been fearless.

  8. I had a cat once that would only drink water off her paw. I alphabetize my cds and count my steps when I walk. My youngest son doesn’t like when certain foods touch on his plate. My neighbor will only listen to the tv or radio if the volume is set at an even number. Something about odd number volume messes with his head and his ‘inner ears’. 🙂 Some may say these are all systematic of OCD tendencies. I like idiosyncrasies better. That way I don’t feel like we’re mentally deficient…just quirky. 🙂

  9. LOL…fun post! I can’t sleep with socks on 🙂 I notice a lot of idiosyncrasies when I watch others and it’s fun to add them to characters. I have a character that files his spices in his cabinet in alphabetical order, and another that turns her earring when she’s nervous. They are fun to add so that your characters are real and they are all things I’ve picked up from people watching.

What's on your mind?

