Friday Flash Fiction – Between

“So wait, I don’t understand.  I can’t have any of them?”

“Oh, you can have a few, but not all the ones you think are bad.”

“Well, what about that one?” Evil said as he pointed to a small boy teasing a cat.

“Well, it’s like this.  I can’t believe I have to continually explain this to you.  They have free will.  I can’t make them do anything. All I do is help them in ways they often do not understand.”

“So how are you helping that boy?  Or better yet, the cat?” Evil rolled his eyes.

“That boy has a choice. Again, free will.  I can do this,” Good said and made the breeze blow a giant branch from the tree.  The branch startled the boy and the cat took off running.

“Nice,” Evil said. “It would have been better if the branch hit the boy in the head, but hey, to each his own.” Evil shrugged his shoulders and looked to the right of the Earth.  “So wait,  I don’t have anything to do with any of all these self-absorbed jerks roaming the planet?”

“Nope,” Good said and kicked back on a bright, puffy cloud. “It’s all their own doing.  They’ll curse me and blame you.  It happens all the time.”

There was a long silence and Evil said, “you wanna go mess with those people who won the lottery last week?”

Good shook his head and laughed, “Ok, come on.  Let’s go pretend it’s all our doing again.”

Comments

  1. Funny! I’m sure this argument happens regularly.

  2. This wasn’t bad at all, Darlene. You always seel yourself short. Stop that!!!! 😉

  3. This was a fantastic read. The way you paired “Good” and “Evil” up together is how I see all things of a dialectic nature in the first place, but to add the element of responsibility to their apparent victims was spectacular. I really enjoyed this bit of fiction!

    A-Z 2012 (#49) – Bloggit Write A-Z 2012 – Poetry
    A-Z 2012 (#861) – Bloggit Write A-Z 2012 – Haiku

What's on your mind?

