A – Z Challenge ~ M is for Mixed Emotions

Image: jackiesangel.com

M was going to be for Music because I love it so much, but I am keeping with a theme (although that was not the plan originally) and if I get on the topic of music, I will surpass my limit of words I bestowed upon myself.
Mixed Emotions.
Mixed emotions are pretty much self-explanatory.  It is like an emotional oxy moron to put it in simplistic terms.
I had mixed emotions when I decided it was time for my daughter to come back home.
On one hand, I was excited that she was coming home after being estranged for five years.
On the other hand, I was nervous and fearful because I had a lot of guilt and I felt that might impede my progress in good parenting.
Mixed emotions can be stressful, especially when making a decision.  We hem and we haw.  What should we do?
In my WIP, my Protag has mixed emotions about how to deal with information she comes to learn about her client.  Of course, I am helping her sort that out in an unconventional manner.

.
Discussion: When was the last time you had mixed emotions about something?  Which emotion did you wind up siding with?

Comments

  1. Seems I often have mixed emotions, maybe as I get older I’m more reflective. Often with my kids, they’re grown up and on their own but still need support at times. And need to be left to fall and fail sometimes- or not? Mix of love and guilt.
    Good reminder to ensure my own characters have mixed emotions – thx

  2. Good books thrive on characters who are mixed up in some way or another. Passing through in the A-Z.

  3. Mixed emotions… Wow! My desire to write vs. my desire to live IRL. I can’t seem to get the right balance!

    • hahaha.. I so hear you on that. I got home from work early today and was like: “Hmm. Do I write? Do I read? Do I research?”
      I opted to nap and deal with it all later. 😉

  4. Another great choice. I could go on for pages about mixed emotions… but you did it better.

  5. Joanna Aislinn says:

    When it comes to emotions and feelings, the most important thing I’ve learned is that feelings are just that. Just b/c I feel doesn’t mean something IS. When I feel mixed or confused, I sit back. It’s not necessarily time to act. (Good thing waiting is something I can often do well. 😉

    • Hey Joanna – exactly… someone once told me “feelings aren’t facts and facts aren’t feelings.” It took me years to finally figure out what that meant! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      • Joanna Aislinn says:

        You’re welcome. Wish I could keep up with all your posts but I do try to check in once in a while.

What's on your mind?

