A – Z Challenge ~ V is for Variety

Coca-Cola 'variety'

Coca-Cola 'variety' (Photo credit: Toban Black)

Ah, variety.  They say it is the spice of life.  well, I’m not sure who “they” are, but they are correct.  Imagine eating the same thing every day, watching the same program every day or even wearing the same clothes every day. Yeah, booooring.

Variety is a staple in our lives because we have complex brains that need stimulation.  Sure, my cat can eat the same flavored crunchy cat food for the rest of his furry life because all he knows is that he is hungry, and the taste is palatable.

Last year I was on a health kick and this was my lunch:

1 Granny Smith apple, cut into chunks

3 ounces of low-fat cheese

4 slices of turkey

I ate it every day for about nine months until one morning I went to make my lunch and I couldn’t even look at those three items. My brain had become so conditioned to my daily routine, my motions and thought process was almost mechanical.  But that other part of my brain (the part that needs stimulation, I suppose) realized I was not married, nor in a long-term relationship with the apples, cheese and turkey and it was okay.  I could eat other foods.

Variety makes it interesting!

Challenge:  Think about something you do each day that you could change.  Maybe your lunch, clothes, make-up, morning beverage, route to work. Anything you can think of.  Take notice to how you react to it.  Was the change exhilarating?  Uncomfortable?

Journal about your change.

Comments

  1. ok I’m willing to try changes in my lunch, clothes, make-up, and route to work but my morning beverage … nope, give me the coffee and nobody gets hurt.

    On the other hand my children are both autistic and their mother is a ridiculously spontaneous. No one told me to what to do and I was a single mother working two job back then… things changed constantly in our lives. We worked together to adjust. By the time I married my current husband – teachers and therapists were constantly mentioning how good my children were at transitions. Without meaning to my hectic lifestyle had helped my kids adjust to and even enjoy variety.

    Great Post!

    *~ MAJK ~*
    Twitter @safireblade
    A to Z Blog Challenge

    • I agree with you on the coffee! I said to be willing to spice it up.. not go crazy! 🙂 I commend you for being the parent of autistic children. I have a friend with an autistic son… no easy task.
      You are awesome.

  2. I absolutely thrive on variety…even as a child, I wanted to do and be different! You make some good points, Darlene. Just stopping by from the Challenge…
    MakingTheWriteConnections

  3. I don’t like change! I’m very routine oriented in a lot of ways. At my job, all is chaos, and I love that. But when I’m at home, I like things very predictable. In fact, a couple years ago, I was going through a very bad time, and I had particular outfits I wore to work each day of the week! I do love variety in my food though… couldn’t stand having the same thing day after day after day…

  4. Think about something you do each day that you could change. hmmmmm… … NO!
    And as for the cat, my little old dog ate the same thing for the first 14 years of her life, but now, she DEMANDS variety. I know this by the disgusted looks she gives me when I put the same thing in front of her more than two days in a row. (I’m serious!) Somebody spoiled her rotten!
    Great post, Darlene! I enjoyed it!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/no-serviceable-parts/

    • Hey Charles… that’s funny about your cat.. out cats eat the same thing every day. One cat only eats cat food, won’t even drink milk. The other cat looooves ice cream.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

What's on your mind?

