Flash Fiction Friday – Rise and Fall

Arch, Tory. The east end of the island is prob...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I watch the sunrise over the ocean like a wild animal creeping out of a forest den.  It will be full daylight soon and the pain will come.  Sure, I could run back inside and hide in the darkness of the cave. However, that would prolong the inevitable and I want to see the sun.

Last night got so out of control.  How could I let Lily go with the others? I could smell their abhorrent kindness. The way Kaud, the leader, stroked the small of her back as they walked into the cave drove me mad.

He knew it drove me mad and he knew I would do something foolish. What a foolish idea, charging at Kaud!

I heard Lily shout, “I never loved you, Vol.”

As Kaud broke my neck, Lily broke my heart.

Now, I stare at the sun, so blinding and pristine, as I whither to a pile of forgotten ashes.

Comments

  1. I really like this. It caught me from the first few lines. This is the first of your posts I’m reading… is this a series?

  2. ontheplumtree says:

    Well done…kept me guessing.

  3. So sad! 😦 but beautifully done 🙂

  4. Consumed by passion, he is now consumed completely.

  5. Nicely done – short and compact

  6. This is a great story! It makes me wonder what led up to his demise. I could feel all of the emotion and the ending was so dramatic. Well done!

What's on your mind?

