B – Believe In Yourself

Freud's diagrams from 'The Ego and the Id' (1923)

Freud’s diagrams from ‘The Ego and the Id’ (1923) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When we were little we believed in the Tooth Fairy, Santa Claus and maybe the monsters in our closet or under our bed.  As we aged, the Tooth Fairy and Santa were either found out by keen detective work or at the age of thirteen we were told by our parents, “Look, kid, it’s been us the whole time!  Sorry to shatter your world.  Eat your peas.”

Now those monsters in the closet and under the bed…

Those monsters turned into inner demons.  That dark, shadowy figure that was only there when the light was off, crept into our soul and became a black mass of self-loathing, jealousy and a giant ego that whispered in our ear every second of every wretched day; lights or no lights.  Sucks, right? Yeah.

The ego does get in the way of believing in yourself.  You might think, “ego… that’s me!  If I have a huge ego, of course I believe in myself!” Hmmm…. no, not really. See, the ego is a dirty, nasty, self-sabotaging entity that keeps you in a mode of comparison.  You might see or feel something that hurts your precious ego, makes it feel bad and… boom!  You no longer believe in yourself.  You are now believing all those voices, images and thoughts that you process (most times without realizing) that tell you “Not _______ enough.” (Feel free to insert trait or attribute)

When the ego is bruised, insecurity seeps in and the belief we need in ourselves vanishes like a vulture that smells a fresh carcass down the road.  We are now believing the hype, media and our peers.

The most important thing you can do to believe in yourself is this:  compare yourself to yourself.  There will always be someone with a nicer car, more money, bigger boobs, a tinier waist, smarter kids… the list goes on and on!  We cannot change what others have and sometimes we cannot change what we have.  Comparing “us” to “them” leaves us broken and bruised every time.  Believing in ourselves is a form of self-love.

Do you let your ego get in the way? 

Comments

  1. And if all else fails, eat cheese and be happy. LOVE the topic. *shifty eyes* And what a great post! I used to have reminders taped all over my mirror–telling me I was beautiful, that I was courageous, that I could accomplish great things. I think a positive mental dialog does wonders for helping us reach that zen state of self-belief. =)

  2. I figured it all out around age 35, that the only person I need to have an ego for is myself….it didn’t matter what the world thought of me, it was how big or small I felt inside of me! Somedays I think I am absolutely fabulous, others I can hardly stand myself….but those are the monsters that have crawled up from under my childhood brain and relocated themselves into my adult life.

    • I know what you mean about some days and other days… that’s for sure… In the program, there is a saying, “Fake It ‘Til You Make It.” It works! Tell yourself you’re unstoppable every day and one day you WILL be..

  3. I think the best way to build a positive self-image (believe in yourself) is to meditate on God’s statement in Genesis 1 that He created us in His own image and after His own likeness. How could we NOT be valuable if we understand that>

  4. Always a good reminder, to just be the best “me” I can.

  5. treadmillconfessions says:

    Wow–this is an awesome post. I love your advise, but it’s definitely easier said than done. I’m working it on it though–it’s going to take a while and require ongoing maintenance, but I will get there.

  6. An excellent suggestion and something we can’t be reminded of too often.

What's on your mind?

