D – Decisions: How To Make One

Questions...

Decisions, decisions… we make hundreds a day.  Some are made with much thought and others are automatic.  Like, this morning, I had to decide what to wear (that took a little time since I hadn’t done laundry in a week!) and then I had to decide which way to drive to work (automatic – I go the same way every morning).

But there are other decisions we must make through our busy days. Bigger decisions we don’t even realize we are making!  Decisions like: which bill to pay first (for those with struggling finances), public school or home school (for our kids) and whether or not to work from home.

For those tough decisions, I like to do a “pro & con” list.  I actually did one of these when I was in outpatient therapy in 2006 for alcohol/drug addiction.  Being new in sobriety, I needed all the help I could get and kept that list with me for the first year of my new-found freedom.  In group, I had to list the pros and cons of using my favorite narcotic.  Honesty was important!  This list helped me much in the beginning, because abstinence from alcohol and drugs for someone like me is not just stopping.  To never use or drink again required a change in thinking and I was prepared to make that change no matter what.

The most important thing about making a decision is deciding what is the most important (a little Cheshire cat action there for ya).

So the next time there is a big decision to make, get out that piece of paper and make a ‘pro’ column and a ‘con’ column.  It sounds silly and childish, but the best decision is an informed decision.

How do you make big decisions?

Comments

  1. I have used pro and con for big decisions, especially ones where I had no clear direction.

  2. I have many big decisions to make. Set alarm like a diligent writer or sleep in like other retirees? Do the crosswords before or after breakfast? So many big decisions.

  3. treadmillconfessions says:

    I like the idea of making lists, but I never seem to think about it for big decisions–or little ones even. I like what you’ve done with your list about your substance of choice because it also serves as a reminder of your accomplishments. You’re amazing.

    I need to get serious and sit down and make a list–I know I do, but this damn chocolate bar is just too good. While my addiction may not seem as extreme, it will be the death of me.

  4. Good tip.
    Thanks, Darlene.

  5. I do this all the time. It helps me weigh out what’s important and what’s a whim or spur of the moment emotional need. Great post.

What's on your mind?

