N – Never & Always

Godforsaken

Godforsaken (Photo credit: jayRaz)

Life is one big lesson.  We learn how to walk and talk as babies, feed ourselves and not poop our pants. Eventually we learn critical thinking with that Godforsaken red shape box with the fifteen various shaped plastic… shapes.  C’mon, you know what I’m talking about.

There are two words I have learned (the hard way of course – both a blessing and a curse) should be forbidden to leave my lips:

NEVER and ALWAYS

See, these are dangerous words for me. Throughout my addiction, I used these words frequently and even throughout the early stages of my sobriety.  Use of these words are dangerous for sure. True to my nature, these words have the opposite effect on my life.  Strange, I know… it’s kind of like ‘yes means no’ and ‘no means yes’ and I mean that.

I have refrained from using these words when arguing… mostly because it irks the hell out of me when people use them against myself.  Things like:

“You never do the dishes!” or “You always say that!” UGH…

Importantly, I cannot use them regarding my sobriety.  I take it one day at a time as I should.  Each day a blessing filled with adventure and opportunity.  And as I learned, anything can happen!

How do you feel about the words never and always?  Do you use them when arguing?

 

Comments

  1. I’ve learned to never say never or always. Invariably if I do, I will be proven wrong. Besides, with
    God, there is no never or always. He is the God of possibilities.

  2. I agree with Tara.

  3. your posts are full of turning negative ino positive!
    so glad i stopped by!

What's on your mind?

