W – Walking (A Flash Fiction Piece)

English: Walking through Heth woods

English: Walking through Heth woods (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The frigid wind kicked up as I walked through the woods; blanketing my face making it impossible to see.  I had to get to my destination but had lost my way and my condensation filled compass stopped working an hour ago.

I was pretty sure I was fucked. My left shoe fell off a mile back and now the sun was dropping.  The coyotes were already howling.  Did they smell fresh meat?  Did they find my shoe?  They sounded further away than where I lost my shoe.

My mind raced as I thought about the conversation I had with Jay.  Through crocodile tears, he told me he no longer loved me.  He had reconnected with a woman from his past and they just “hit it off so well.”  Plus, he added that I was “no fun anymore” since I didn’t drink.

Jerk.

The brand new watch on my wrist; a gift from him for our six month anniversary read six o’clock.  I drew back my tears and trekked on.  A part of me wished I was in the city so I could hit a bar and drink away my emotions.  But, that was stupid and childish.  It was good to be in the woods.  Being surrounded by nature was more peaceful than being surrounded by a bunch of horny, drunk men.

I never thought I’d ever think that way.  Sobriety seems to be helping me grow.

Comments

  1. OMG! You said it sister!

  2. Just discovering your blog for the first time as I make my way through the A-Z Challenge. Please check us out and sign up to follow if you like what you see. Juliet atCity Muse Country Muse

What's on your mind?

